Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I have a confession… I’m not really a football fan. I know, I know, how un-American of me lol. I’ve always said that I’m going to be the wife that makes all the great snacks and beverages for my husband’s football Sunday gatherings and then goes to do things I enjoy, like shopping 🙂

With that said, this week I tried out a dip that is a sure crowd pleaser for Super Bowl Sunday!

Who doesn’t love spinach and artichoke dip?? In all its veggie, cheesy goodness, I figured you could take this classic party dip a grandeous step further by adding crab!

What you need:

10 oz. frozen spinach

15 oz. jarred/canned artichoke hearts

4 oz. fresh backfin crab meat

1 tbsp crushed garlic

1 tbsp butter

2 scallions, diced

1 tspn nutmeg

salt

pepper

8 oz(1 package) cream cheese

1/4 cup mayo

1/4 cup sour cream

1/3 cup freshly grated parmesan cheeses

1/2 cup shredded mozzarella/provolone blend

spinach

How to:

Pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees. Cook the frozen spinach according to the package directions(I popped mine in the microwave for 4 minutes on high) and then squeeze as much of the water out as possible.

Add 1 tbsp of butter to a skillet. Once the butter has melted, add in the tbsp of crushed garlic and the diced scallions. Allow this to cook for 1-2 minutes and add in the fresh crab.spinach0

Mix the crab with the scallions and garlic and add in your thawed spinach.

spinach1Fold the spinach into the crab meat and add a dash of pepper, salt and the tspn of nutmeg. I know how crazy it sounds to add nutmeg to this dip but trust me, it marries well with the flavors here. Nutmeg is also the “secret” ingredient in most creamed spinach recipes, just an FYI.

Once the ingredients have spent a couple minutes on the heat, remove the skillet from the eye and set aside.

spinach2While that cools, get your casserole dish and add your artichoke hearts, the 1/3 cup of Parmesan and the 1/2 cup of mozzarella/provolone blend. Add the spinach/crab mixture to the artichokes and cheese.spinach3Now add in your mayo, sour cream and cream cheese and mix all the ingredients together. spinach4Smooth the dip out so that it bakes evenly and pop it in the oven. You may also want to sprinkle a little more shredded cheese on top.spinach5

spinach6

Allow it to cook for 30 minutes on 375 or until it begins to bubble and brown around the edges.

spinach7 spinach8I like to serve this yummy dip with pita chips but fresh pita bread or carrots would work just the same!

spinach9 spinach10

Happy game day eats!

~ Dyanna

@DyannaLynn

@HighLifeSuite

 

 

 

 

 

