Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I recently tried this new spot in DC called The Pinch. It’s located in the northern area of Columbia Heights on 14th Street NW. A dear friend of mine, Chontelle, decided we should try it out. She said she found out about them by doing a yelp search for duck and how much she wanted to spend. When I tell y’all how much I love duck, it really is one of my favorite things to eat when I’m out. So I was excited to see what The Pinch was about.

outside

So we got there and perused the menu. I saw that they offer my favorite wine brand, Cupcake Wine Prosecco. *Win* Although, I didn’t order it this time around, it  is well noted for next time. We decided to start with the Beer Loaded Sweet Potato Fries. The fries comes with pulled duck, bacon, seared scallions, cheddar and sour cream (on the side).

loaded waffle fries

Chontelle really enjoyed this dish. I liked it and would share it with someone again. My only negative was that the sweet potato fries were unusually sweet. And this sweetness made the pulled duck fight for my taste bud attention. Yes, I know you’re saying… But G, they are sweet potatoes. I get it and I’ve had sweet potatoes before and have enjoyed endless amount of sweet potato fries, but they were just a bit too sweet for me. But you try it and let me know your thoughts.

For our meals, I ordered the crabcake sandwich and Chontelle got the meat lovers burger.

crabcake

crabcake 2

My pan-fried crabcake was tasty. Although it had filler, it was not a filler burger… you fellow crabcake connoisseurs know what I’ve talking about. It had good flavor and left me satisfied. The crabcake sandwich was served with fries and coleslaw. Both which were enjoyable.

meat lovers burger

(from The Pinch)

(from The Pinch)

Chontelle had the meat lovers burger which came with a beef burger, pulled duck, bacon, and cheddar. It was also served with fries and coleslaw. She really enjoyed this burger and described as very yummy and tasting similar to bulgogi mixing nicely with the saltiness of the bacon. I had to have a bite after hearing this. I agreed…it was pretty delicious.

Overall, I enjoyed my experience at The Pinch. They also have a brunch which offers bottomless mimosas, blood marys or screw drivers. *Sold* I will definitely be back to see what their brunch is all about.

If you’re looking for something fun to do, you can enjoy trivia at The Pinch on Wednesdays and Improv on Mondays featuring Burlesque & Belly Laughs. Burlesque and Improv sounds like a very entertaining and fun mix. So go see what The Pinch is like for yourself. Here is their full menu. Let me know what you think.

– G
@seekyourbliss
@highlifesuite

