Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The 2013 Inaugural events have all come to a close, but that just means it’s time to talk Inaugural fashion! Let’s discuss the who wore what and when 🙂

Michelle Obama gave me SO much life in her Thom Browne structured coat and J. Crew bejeweled belt and purple gloves at the swearing in ceremony. My eyes literally popped open when I saw her!

inagfash

Even without the belt and gloves, I just love this coat! It actually looks like a dress. Who says that just because it’s winter, you can’t be stunning?? Pish posh!

Barack Obama, Michelle Obama, Malia Obama, Sasha Obama, Marian RobinsonNow who is Thom Browne? I’m sure that’s the question on many people’s minds, it was honestly on mine so I did some research. American born Thom Browne is primarily known for his menswear designs but designs womenswear as well. While mainstream America may not be familiar with Thom Browne’s designs, he was named as the CFDA menswear designer of the year back in 2006 and the GQ Designer of the Year in 2008. Learn more about the designer by visiting the brand’s site here.

Dr. Jill Biden’s silver Lela Rose coat also caught my eye! The color and the big bow were my fav aspects. I’m a sucker for ultra feminine details!

Barack Obama Sworn In As U.S. President For A Second Term Barack Obama Sworn In As U.S. President For A Second Term

The Obama girls, or should I say, young ladies, were uber cute in their brightly colored coats and gloves! I still can’t believe how much they’ve grown since 2009.

inagfash2 inagfash3Malia wore this wool J. Crew coat in fresh plum. While Sasha looked absolutely adorable in a periwinkle Kate Spade coat.

And just how chic did the girls look at Saturday night’s Kids’ Inaugural concert?? I also thought the First Lady’s fashion forward Alexander McQueen top with an asymmetrical hem was a bold yet fashionable choice.

inagfash1

Another standout fashion sighting came from Jay-Z! At Monday’s swearing in, he looked absolutely dapper in a Tom ford suit; fellas take note! Beyonce’s makeup, hair and emerald accessories(hey Pantone color of the year!) were stunning but her choice of an Emilio Pucci formal gown, while beautiful, confused me. It’s clearly an evening dress being worn at 11am. Right dress, wrong time.

inagfashion6

inagfashion1

Monday night’s Inaugural Ball brought the moment everyone had been waiting for, the unveiling of the FLOTUS’ gown.

inagfash7

First, I must say that I love President Obama’s choice of a white bowtie! Mrs. Obama chose a design from Jason Wu for the 2nd time.

inagfash8

President Obama And First Lady Attend Inaugural BallsI LOOOOVE the color on this dress! The ruby red is amaze against her skin. The actual dress design, I’m not in love with. Sorry folks. I wanted to see more umph, more flare. I wanted the dress to take my breath away and it didn’t. I loved the FLOTUS’ Thom Browne coat more than I loved this dress. I just feel like this silhouette lacked the creativity I feel she deserves. But if she liked it, it doesn’t matter if I loved it 🙂

But anywho, that’s my take on 2013 Inaugural fashion! What’d you all think about the choices for this year’s ceremonies??

~ Dyanna

@DyannaLynn

@HighLifeSuite

