Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I happen to have a thing for lemon desserts. I absolutely love lemon! Recently, I had a craving for something lemony and sweet. So I decided I was going to make some lemon glazed cookies. I used my girl, Martha Stewart’s recipe and they came out delicious!

Now I will put this disclaimer out there… when I want the cookies, I wanted something I could prepare fast. So I used store brought sugar cookie dough. The cookies still came out very tasty, but next time I think I will make my own cookies as well.

Lemon Glazed Cookies

You’ll need:

  • Sugar cookie dough
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 2 tbsp grated lemon zest
  • 1/3 cup of lemon juice

PicsPlay_1358477130858

The most tedious part of this recipe will be using a grated to get the lemon zest. I ended up using a whole bag of lemons in order to get my two tablespoons.

2012-12-26_15-00-17_691

Preheat your oven as the cookie instructions require. Place your cookie dough on a cookie sheet.

PicsPlay_1358477253302

While the cookies are baking, mix the powdered sugar, zest and lemon juice all together. Stir until everything is mixed well and you have a thick syrup like consistency.

2012-12-26_16-14-35_620

Take cookies out of the oven (per time instructions) and allow them to cool. Once they have cooled, spoon the lemon glaze onto the cookies. I ended up doing this twice. I spooned the glaze once and let it sit and cool for a few minutes. Then I went back and added more glaze and allowed the glaze to set.

PicsPlay_1358477523676

After my glaze was set, I tasted the cookies and they were just sooo yummy. This recipe was fairly easy, so I will definitely be making them again. The glaze was so good… I need to find more recipes to use it.

– G
@seekyourbliss
@thehighlife

