Tags

, , , , , , , ,

If you’ve been following the blog, you know that I absolutely LOVE all things fashion and food related. Lately, I’ve also picked up an interest in home decor. Nothing like coming home to a beautifully decorated apartment/house!

However, one of the downsides of furnishing a home can be the cost. We all want attractive, well made pieces but don’t want to break the bank to get them. Or maybe that’s just me 🙂 Judging by the size of the crowds at IKEA, I know I’m not the only one.

If you’re looking for affordable, well made home decor that won’t be in everyone else’s home(c’mon, how many people do you know with an IKEA bedroom set?), I’ve got two spots that are a must visit.

HomeGoods

homegoods

*photo from celebspy.com*

My mother is the HomeGoods queen. And for the longest, I’ve tried to fight jumping on her bandwagon. But after practically buying all my decor from there, I have to embrace my new found obsession! They carry everything from kitchen accessories to throw pillows, chairs, lamps and rugs. They literally have it all and for half the cost of regular retail for most items!

Here’s a taste of favorite pieces that I’ve purchased from HomeGoods!

These high-back chairs are the perfect compliment too my living room couch and provide great additional seating.

hd1 hd2

This throw and accent pillows also came from HomeGoods! They have an extremely diverse collection of accent pillows; all types of colors, shapes and sizes.

hd5

These accent pieces all make for great conversation. Especially the hourglass which a couple people have threatened to take home with them 🙂

hd3 hd4

My latest trip, produced a pair of adorable mini cake stands. I fell in love with the vintage look and the great pastel colors!

hd6

If you’re in the DC area(and even if you aren’t), check out their website for the location nearest you. Unfortunately they don’t sell on-line. That’s probably a good thing when I think about it. Who knows what else I would have bought from them already!

My second favorite home decor store is Anthropologie.

anthropologie*The Anthropologie on M St in Georgetown. Photo taken from streetsandstripes.com*

I’ve gone into Anthropologie many times, but I never appreciated their home decor section until this past weekend.

hd

There were SO many great colors and cute and somewhat kitschy items. Aprons, bowls, mugs, plates, storage containers, bedroom decor, EVERYTHING! I was shocked! I don’t know how I had missed all of this great stuff before. I may have been blinded by all the apparel :-/

Even though I saw quite a few things I wanted to take home with me, I attempted to just browse but somehow these little bowls, perfect for holding ingredients while I cook, just had to come home with me. And at only $2.50 a pop, they were definitely worth it!

hd0

They add such a great pop of color to my conservative all black dish set.

I’m already plotting on a measuring spoon set I spotted during my last trip.

anthropologie0

*photo from Anthropologie.com*

This dining room measuring spoon set will be perfect for using during my Kitchen Quickie video blogs!

What are your fav home decor shops and items??

~ Dyanna

@DyannaLynn

@HighLifeSuite

