Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

On Monday I posted a video tutorial for pesto from scratch, that I was using as a part of my Christmas Eve Feast of Seven Fishes – an Italian holiday tradition.

The pesto which was tossed with shrimp and linguine was just the beginning of a literal culinary seafood feast that I shared with my family! I planned the menu for weeks, taking tips and tricks from some of my favorite chefs and cooking shows to come up with a menu that would leave everyone satisfied.

7fish

*yep, I know linguine is spelled wrong there :-)*

There was calamari, salmon glazed with brown sugar, mushrooms stuffed with crab, scallop risotto and more.

7fish1

While I enjoyed everything and I do mean everything…

7fish0

*Please excuse my fancy paper plate and the fact that there was really no way to make this packed plate look pretty*

my favorite dishes of the night were the fried calamari (tip for tender calamari: soack in buttermilk for at least 30 minutes before battering/frying), which was crunchy and flavorful

7fish2

and the baccala(salt cod) salad.

7fish3

I’d never cooked with or tasted salt cod before, so I was worried about how this would come out but it was a hit! That means I’m here to share the recipe with you! Fish, other than salmon, on a salad may sound crazy but trust me, this one is nomalicious!

What you need: 

1/2 -1 lb of salt cod

1 bag of arugala

juice from 1/2 a lemon

1 tspn dill

2 tspn crushed garlic

1 shallot, diced

1/4 cup roasted almond slivers

olive oil

How To:

You’ll want to begin by soaking your salt cod for 2-3 days in water to remove the salt from the fish. Keep the fish in the fridge while doing this but change your water every 6 or so hours. Test a piece of the fish for saltiness before baking to make sure it’s soaked long enough.

Once your fish has been de-salted(is that a word??), sprinkle it with olive and pop it in the over for 15-20 minutes, or until flaky, at 375 degrees.

While the fish bakes, prepare your salad. Saute your garlic, shallot and dill in 1 tbsp of olive oil until the shallot softens and become transparent and set aside. Rinse your arugula and pat dry, then put it in a big bowl. Add your shallots, garlic and dill to the arugula, as well as the juice from half the lemon and toss.

Once your fish is out of the oven, tear it into small bite size pieces and toss with the greens. Add the almond slivers and just like that you have a unique salad that’s bound to impress!

*Don’t know where to get salt cod? If you’re in the DC area, venture to your nearest H Mart, Korean market! There’s one in Wheaton, Gaithersburg, Annandale, Falls Church and Fairfax”*

~ Dyanna

@DyannaLynn

@HighLifeSuite

