Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

My family started a breakfast holiday tradition a few years ago of chicken and waffles. Since I’m usually the specialty meal cook in my house, I decided to share my process for making this delicious meal.

I’m just going to put it out there and tell you that I’m not a from scratch girl, like Dyanna… I consider myself more of a Sandra Lee (Semi-Homemade Cooking on the Food Network). So today’s recipe will include boxed waffle mix and fried chicken wings with direction taken from Paula Deen.

You’ll need:
– Chicken (I used chicken wings for this meal cause I feel they are easier to work with.)
– 2 cups flour
– Hot sauce (Texas Pete works great!)
– 3-5 eggs
– Waffle mix and necessary ingredients
– vegetable oil for frying
– butter & syrup

The first step is to prep your chicken. Set your fryer to 350 degrees and let the oil heat up. Rinse your chicken, soak it in some warm salt water, rinse again. Place on a paper towel or in a bowl and season to your liking. You don’t have to season the chicken heavily here because seasonings will also be added to the flour.

Next, grab 3 eggs and beat them. Add with a little water to eggs (enough water to thin the eggs out a bit). Then add some hot sauce to the egg mixture. Paula Deen says add a cup, I only added about 1/2 cups worth.

Next, you will need to season your flour. In a gallon size ziploc bag, I added about 2-3 tablespoons of garlic powder, onion powder, Lawry’s seasoning and black pepper to my flour. Again, season to your liking. I closed the bag and shook to mix the flour and seasonings.

Now to the frying part, I took a few wings and place them in the egg mixture, then put then in the flour bag and shook.

After they were well coated, I placed them in the fryer.

A cooking trick I was taught is that the chicken will float when it’s done (particularly wings). I like mine to have a deep golden color, so I left them in there a few extra minutes.

Doesn’t that chicken look delicious??

Next, I prepared my waffles. During the time the chicken was frying, I mixed my waffle mix together. (Usually the mix calls for something like 2 cups of the mix, 1 1/3 cup of milk, 2 tbsp of vegetable oil and 1-2 eggs. But follow your box directions for best results.) If you want an authentic buttermilk taste, swap out the milk for buttermilk.

I heated up (plugged in) my waffle maker and poured the mix evenly on the bottom.

Closed it, flip it, waited a few minutes and it was done. These are directions according to my waffle maker. Do what your tells you to do. 🙂

Now you’re ready to eat!! Here’s my finished plate with my waffle dressed with butter & syrup and the wings with some extra hot sauce, exactly how I like it. There was only one way to finish out this meal….

With a mimosa, of course! 2-3 parts orange juice, 1 bottle of the sparkling stuff (prosecco, champagne, sparkling wine.), mix and enjoy!

Chicken and waffles is one of my favorite meals to make. Think you’ll give it a try?? Let me know how it turns out.

– G
@seekyourbliss
@highlifesuite

