Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m pretty sure everyone knows that I am a sucker for love. I love love! With that being said, I enjoy the vow portion of a wedding ceremony. The confession of love for another before God, family and friends…. *heart melts* Anywho, I think it’s such a cute idea to always be reminded of that day and those vows with a keepsake.

LOL! Simplicity. (SomeEcards)

Today, I will share with you a few ways to keep your wedding vows on display. I also will show you my unsuccessful attempt at a DIY mug. But we’ll get into that later.

Use to remember his vows the day of… keep in on your dresser or nightstand after. (Style Me Pretty)

His and Hers vows on each side and wedding day photo in the middle. (Wedding Snap)

Typed vows behind faux scrabble letters (Pinterest)

Love this! Vows & graphic art (Etsy)

This one happens to be the lyrics to the couple’s first dance, but weddings vows would work just as well. DIY Instructions here.

More vows and graphic art. Love love. (Etsy)

Transform old into wow and unique with just a sharpie. (A Little Glass Box)

Big DIY project but I think it would be worth it. Write out vows on fabric, glue fabric on bedroom wall. Instructions here.

So now we get to my attempt at a DIY mug. I saw this cute mug on Pinterest and thought it would be a great and useful idea for a vows keepsake.  You simply use a sharpie and write or draw on a mug. I research everything before I try it out (here and here) and I only saw one post about the DIY mug not working. So I figured it wouldn’t happen to me.

I thought wrong! Smh. My writing on the mug washed off with little effort. Based on the additional research I completed after I saw that my work was gone, I found out that for some the DIY mug work and for others it doesn’t and no one knows exactly why.

So here are the instructions and I’m hoping you are one of the many who this project does work for. 🙂 You will need a mug and sharpies. I purchased a mug from the dollar store that already had an orange design on it.

Since I’m not married yet and don’t have vows, I decided to use a biblical verse – 1 Corinthians 13:13. The NLT version reads: “Three things will last forever—faith, hope, and love—and the greatest of these is love.” Here is how my mug turned out. Isn’t it cute and unique??

I also added some extra designs to the handle and inside the mug.

I let the ink dry for a bit. Then placed the mug in the oven (on a cookie sheet) at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes, I turned the oven off and let the mug cool in the oven. (I did this at night, so I grabbed the mug in the morning.) Placing the mug in the oven, is supposed to make the writing or artwork set in and be permanent.

So after a little washing, my work washed off. Everything started to fade. I was NOT a happy camper. BUT, I will be trying this project again with sharpie paint markers. I will keep you posted on how it turns out.

Did you try this project and it worked? Let me know. I want to see your results.

– G
@seekyourbliss
@highlifesuite

