Tags

, , , , , , , ,

As November 6th looms around the corner, it seems like you can’t run from political conversation. With tempers flaring particularly high this year between Repubs and Dems , Hello Kitty fans took to Facebook and Twitter and decided that the uber popular Sanrio character should enter the race! And no presidential campaign is complete without a campaign headquarters so Hello Kitty has taken over a popular event space in downtown DC.

Friday I took some time to visit the Hello Kitty for President campaign at the LivingSocial building on 918 F St.

Two floors in the 918 event space have been decked out in Hello Kitty paraphernalia and original artworks. All of which are for sale, and might I add that 100% of the net proceeds will go to support the American Red Cross!

I can’t lie, feeling like a kid again, I wanted to buy a couple of these Hello Kitty trinkets!

They even had Hello Kitty’s iconic chubby bunny bow in headband form!

Sephora is also providing complimentary makeovers featuring items from their new Hello Kitty beauty line which you can view here.

The “exhibit”, which is open through November 6th, is absolutely adorable. If you’re a Hello Kitty lover or know someone who is, it’s definitely worth checking out!

It was quite a coincidence that I visited the Hello Kitty campaign office the very same day I was scheduled to make character themed cupcakes for my friend’s two year old daughter’s birthday party!

I was asked to make confetti yellow cupcakes with vanilla and strawberry icing.

To incorporate the Hello Kitty theme I turned to my archenemy, fondant, and used a stamping tool and edible decorating gel to create toppers for the cupcakes.

To make the cupcakes super girly, I used an abundance of sprinkles and royal icing flowers as a part of the decorations. For an added surprise and delight, I baked a 9″ round cake and molded it into the shape of Hello Kitty’s head so that I could write a special ‘happy birthday’ message for the birthday girl!

So how did it all turn out?

 

~ Dyanna

@DyannaLynn

@HighLifeSuite

