Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s (basically) a known fact that the cost of flowers for a wedding can get pretty expensive. But it doesn’t have to. Affordable flowers do exist! One of them is Baby’s Breath (Gypsophila). Let’s break down the cost…

100 Baby’s Breath stems from Costco =  $80

From my research, it takes about 10 or so stems to make a full bouquet or centerpiece. Thus, 100 stems total / 10 stems bunch together

= 10 bouquets or centerpieces

According to your needs, I think that’s a pretty good price for floral arrangements. You get the cost savings by arranging the flowers yourself. *Hint Hint* You can also reach out to floral vendors at your local farmer’s market to get great prices.

Now, I will be the first to tell you that at first I didn’t really care for these fillers flowers. But I started finding images in which the flowers had a dramatic effect and my feelings completely changed. I believe the key to using baby’s breath and making it work is the bigger the better. Check out the images below to see what I’m talking about.

Bouquets & Boutonnieres

DIY from Real Simple

from Pinterest

Not sure that you want a bouquet made up of baby’s breath? Try adding it to some lily of the valleys. (from Style Me Pretty)

Ceremony Decor

Simple tin pail and baby’s breath (from Ruffled Blog)

I absolutely love this!! The baby’s breath mixed with rose petals is divine! (from Pinterest)

See what I mean about the big, dramatic effect?? (from Ruffled Blog)

Love this look!! again…lol. (from JL Designs)

Reception Decor

DIY monogram letters from Notes on a Wedding

Dramatic effect with lighting (from Swank Productions)

Place cards arrangement from Pinterest

So what did you think? Are you a changed soul on baby’s breath, like myself? Have you seen a gorgeous wedding that use baby’s breath and care to share? I would love to see!

– G

@seekyourbliss

@highlifesuite

