Tags

, , , , ,

A couple weeks ago, Gina sent me an article about Zengo’s “new” brunch offerings. Like it’s sister restaurants, Masa 14 and El Centro D.F.; their brunch would offer unlimited drink and food options.

Being lovers of unlimited brunch and Masa 14’s in particular, it’s only natural that Zengo’s brunch got added to our ‘must-try’ list. And let me just say that it didn’t disappoint!

Let me begin by saying that I love the super cute decor in Zengo! The Asian-inspired decor has a warm & modern feel to it, and the music is also pumping. Brunch is only served upstairs; however, the large dining room provides plenty of space.

 

*picture taken from PrinceofPetworth.com*

 

 

 

The unlimited brunch option(click here for an enlarged version of the extensive menu) goes for $35 and includes countless small plate Asian fusion dishes and a variety of flavored mimosas and Bloody Marys. Gina and I elected for the pomegranate and passion fruit mimosas and got down to business.

 

 

 

 

I’m going to let my photos from the excursion speak for themselves but both of us were more than pleased. The flavors were all complex but surprisingly unified and delicious. Personal favorites included the Peking duck chilaquiles, lobster-chipotle girts(which honestly don’t have any lobster chunks in them but that’s just how good the flavor is) and the achiote-hoisin pork arepas.

 

 

*Peking duck chilaquiles*

*lobster-chipotle grits*

*achiote-hoisin pork arepas*

We also tried the short rib hash, bacon & scrambled egg steamed buns, bacon fried rice and yucca fries with miso mayo.

*short rib hash*

*bacon fried rice*

*bacon & scrambled egg steamed buns*

*yucca fries with miso mayo*

Despite all the food and drinks we had, we absolutely couldn’t pass up dessert; warm churros with Mexican hot chocolate.

All in all, while I still vote Masa 14 as the top Richard Sandoval brunch spot, I’d give Zengo’s Brunch 4 out of 5 stars. As trite as it may seem, I didn’t love the mimosas options. They lack the flavor that I absolutely love in the Masa Mimosa!

I look forward to a 2nd trip to try out more of their offerings!

Have any of you all been to Zengo’s brunch? What’d you think?

~ DyannaLynn

@DyannaLynn

@HighLifeSuite

 

