Tags

, , , , , , ,

For the past 2 years, one of my former coworkers has been requesting that I try my hand at a pistachio cupcake. I’m not sure why I was so hesitant to do it, since I already bake so many other flavors, but last night I finally decided to give it a try!

Here I start with my basic ingredients: cake flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, oil, buttermilk, vanilla, 2 eggs & my secret weapon – pistachio instant pudding. You can crush up raw pistachios and add them to the cupcake batter instead, but I decided to go with the pudding as a way to cut corners 🙂

 

 

Mix your wet ingredients together using a mixer and then slowly add in the dry ones.

 

 

Luckily I had green cupcake wrappers left from the baby shower I did a couple weeks ago, so I was able to use those and keep with the pistachio green theme.

 

 

After 20 or so minutes in the oven, the cupcakes were ready to go and it was time to let them cool while I worked on the frosting.

 

 

 

I created a cream cheese frosting with a little bit of the left over instant pudding for added color and flavor. To frost, you can use a piping bag and tip or a handy spatula like the one I have.

 

 

After frosting the cupcakes and adding crushed pistachios, I decided they needed something else for a little extra umph. I thought pistachios, pistachio desserts… baklava! And that’s when the honey popped into my head.

I squeezed a little honey into a Ziploc bag and cut the tip from the corner to make sure I could get a controlled drizzle.

 

 

And just like that I had The Baklava, a pistachio cupcake with cream cheese pistachio icing, crushed pistachios and a honey drizzle.

 

 

 

Naturally my official taste-taster, my dad, had to give it a try. Judging by his eagerness to polish off a second one, I’d say these are a hit!

 

 

~ Dyanna

@DyannaLynn

@HighLifeSuite

