Tags

, , , ,

Earlier this week, Gina sent me a link and asked me if I had ever heard of Scratch DC. I like to think of myself as keeping my ear to the streets and staying abreast of what goes on in the city; however  I had never heard of this company. But as soon as I clicked into their website, I knew I would be getting to know ScratchDC soon.

Scratch operates like a farm-to-table, catering company of sorts in that they create a new meal every day, bundle up the fresh and local ingredients and deliver them right to your doorstep to prepare!

Seeing as my movement is still pretty limited due to my bum foot, this sounded like the perfect answer to my inconvenient situation.

Every Friday, the menu for the upcoming week gets posted to ScratchDC.com.

Luckily for me, today’s menu consisted of one of my favorites: a cider brined pork tenderloin, chipotle mashed sweet potatoes & caramelized apples. Quite the perfect fall dish! And at $26 + tax, the price was right for a meal for two.

When you select the menu, you’re able to put in your address, contact info and then select the time you want your meal dropped off. After checking out, a status page immediately pops up to let you know when your order has been sent and received by Scratch.

Can I just say that I LOVE status pages because they assure me that my order isn’t just floating somewhere out in Lala Land lol.

I selected 6pm for my delivery, but because my delivery guy (who just so happened to also be Scratch owner Ryan) happened to be in my neck of the woods around 5ish, my meal arrived a little bit early which is always nice.

Once I got home it was time to get down to business! The ingredients and instructions are packaged in this great environmentally friendly box and tied with twine.

The instructions were surprisingly easy to follow and I love that Scratch let’s you know exactly where the item’s they’ve included come from. And trust me, they’ve thought of everything, down to the oil to cook with and salt & pepper for accent seasoning. You rally only have to provide the cookware!

I couldn’t have been more thrilled by the fact that it took a mere 30 minutes to go from the ingredients you see in that box to the plate full of nomalicious goodness below!

The chipotle mashed potatoes were my favorite part of the meal and they were utterly AMAZING! I don’t even like sweet potatoes and I was literally scraping the pot lol.

Looking for a unique date idea? Want to impress your friends in a flash? Scratch DC is the perfect answer for the “young and hungry”(Ryan’s words 🙂 in DC!

 

Follow them at @ScratchDC for the latest!

~ Dyanna

@DyannaLynn

@HighLifeSuite

