Tags

, , , , , ,

Over the last couple months, I’ve been trying to take a healthier approach to life. Exercising, eating better, just taking better care of my body period.

I’m used to eating whatever I want and just not caring about it, but the older I get, the more I realize that that just won’t cut it. Now is the time to start adding more healthy options to my diet and although healthy some times means not quite as tasty as fatty, high calorie options, I’m committed to adding my own enjoyable twist to “healthy” foods.

That commitment is what made me decide to come up with an easy quinoa recipe that would be both healthy and nomaliscious.

I LOVE Caribbean style peas & rice but we all know white rice has it’s drawbacks, that’s when it clicked in my head that I could sub out the rice and replace it with quinoa. Add chicken and some other chopped veggies and I’d have a dish worth eating!

What you need: 

1 1/2 cups quinoa

2 1/2 cups chicken or vegetable stock

1 large shallot

1 small bell pepper

1 tbsp crushed garlic

5-6 baby bella mushrooms

1 can pigeon peas

1 bay leaf

2 tbsp tomato paste

4 chicken thighs(or whatever part of the chicken you prefer)

various seasonings for the chicken (I used paprika, garlic powder, celery salt, pepper & thyme)

How to:

Thoroughly clean and season your chicken with the spices/herbs of your choice and set aside. Chop your shallot & bell pepper and slice your mushrooms. Add enough vegetable oil to a deep pot to cover the bottom and once hot, add in the shallot, bell pepper, mushrooms and tablespoon of crushed garlic. Saute until the shallots are translucent and the veggies have softened.

Add your chicken, skin side down to pot and allow it to brown.

After about 10-15, you don’t want the chicken to be all the way done since it will have more time to cook, go ahead and add in the tomato paste.

As well as the cup and a half of quinoa.

And the bay leaf and chicken/vegetable stock.

Bring the pot to a boil and then cover. Allow the ingredients to cook for 15-20, checking back periodically to make sure that all the liquid hasn’t evaporated. You’ll know when the quinoa is done because it will be translucent in the center and look like there’s white threading surrounding it.

And ta-daaaa!

You’ve got a healthy, one-put dish that takes less than an hour to prepare and is really yummy!

Is there a quinoa recipe that you love? Share it with us!

~ Dyanna

@DyannaLynn

@HighLifeSuite

