Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I saw this project for rolled roses a few years ago here and recently decided to try it. There are so many things that one can do with rolled roses. From pins, to headbands, to earrings… the options are endless.

So how do you go from a skirt and old pajama shirt to earrings? Today, I show you how!


You will need:
– scrap fabric about an inch wide, about 12 inches long, depending on how big you would like the rose
– fabric glue or a hot glue gun
– earring backings and closures (you can get this from a craft store)

First, fold the fabric in half. Seal the fold with fabric glue our by sewing it (just two or three stitches).

With the closed end of the fabric, roll to create the center of the flower.

Continue building the flower by twisting the fabric and tightly rolling the fabric around the center of the flower. Throughout the rolling and twisting, you may want to dab a touch of glue along the way. Your rose should look like this.

Once you have continued to twist and roll tightly to you desired rose size, add a dab of glue at the end. Place some glue on the back of the rose and fold the access fabric to the back of the rose. If there is extra fabric, cut it to the size of the rose.

Your end product should look like this.

Here are my finished roses using the fabric I had.

Since I decided to make earrings, I took roses with the same fabric and I used a hot glue gun to glue the earring backings to each of them.

Here’s my finished rolled roses earrings.

I loved this project because the earrings were so simple to make and I can make them to match the colors of any outfit.

Up next, I’ll be making a headband with the rolled roses… Stay tuned.

– G

@seekyourbliss

@highlifesuite

