Tags

, , , , , , ,

Many times when people think about eating healthy, they think about bland, tasteless food. This doesn’t have to be the case… It just has to be prepared right.

I recently tried a new fast casual restaurant in Penn Quarter called Protein Bar. And let’s just say I will definitely be going back. Protein Bar serves a healthy cuisine of salads, bowls with quinoa (a healthy grain pronounced keen-wa) and bar-ritos.

What are “bar-ritos” you ask? Taken from theProteinBar.com

“Our Signature Grilled Protein Bar-ritos have half the calories of most burritos since we use warm organic quinoa instead of rice and a low-cal whole wheat wrap instead of a flour tortilla. Our Chilled Bar-ritos feature our house-made sauces, organic or all-natural proteins, and are rolled in our low-cal whole wheat wrap.”

This visit, I had the healthy parm bowl. It comes with chicken, marinara sauce, parmesan cheese and quinoa. The quinoa on this bowl is similar to small pasta. I also added some pesto upon the suggestion of the cashier.

My healthy parm bowl

It was delicious. This was my first time having quinoa (I think… But if I can’t remember it, that means it wasn’t memorable). Anywho, I was very pleased with my selection. The tomato sauce was tasty and all the flavors meshed well together. I was left full and satisfied.

Healthy parm bowl all stirred together

So if you are looking for some good, clean eats, give Protein Bar a try. They also serve breakfast, chili, raw juices and shakes. I can’t wait to go back and try their buffalo bowl (quinoa, chicken, house-made vegan buffalo sauce, celery, cucumbers, carrots and blue cheese). Buffalo sauce makes everything good, right?

Have you been to Protein Bar? How was your experience? I want to hear about it!

– G

@seekyourbliss
@highlifesuite

The Protein Bar on Urbanspoon

