Tags

, , , , , , , ,

A few weeks ago, I mentioned that the summer edition of DC Restaurant Week was approaching. (In case you missed it, check it out here.) Well it’s here…. so yesterday, my girls and I decided to give Elisir Ristorante a try.

The key to choosing a place to eat for restaurant week is to dine at a place you normally wouldn’t go except on a special occasion or choose a place you haven’t been to before. Elisir fit both rules. During Restaurant Week, participating restaurants offer a prix fixe menu for lunch at $20.12 per person and for dinner at $35.12 per person. Beverages aren’t included. While $35.12 may not seem like a big discount for on a dinner meal, take a look at the dinner menu the restaurant regularly offers. I’m pretty sure the Restaurant Week menu will be cheaper than normally dining in the restaurant, especially for the higher end restaurants.

Anywho, Elisir is located at 427 11th Street NW, and has been opened for just under a year. I enjoyed my dining experience and my waiter was great! Here is their Restaurant Week Menu.

Wine and Conversation at Elisir (I will say that the drinks were a bit pricey for my taste ($12). Since this was a one-time occasion, I enjoyed but on a limit, of course.)

To begin our 3-course meal, we ordered the starters. I had the Italian style sushi rolls. While they had good flavor, I enjoyed my friends’ dishes more. They ordered the corn and potato soup with the crab flan ($10 supplement), and the scallop.

For our entrees, most of us ordered the spinach pappardelle with duck ragu, including myself. It was tasty. The second picture is the pork tenderloin with a tempura mushroom. The pork was flavored nicely. The other dish that was ordered was the agnolotto pasta. It was a light dish but very flavorful. (Sorry, no pic)

For dessert, there was a choice of a dark chocolate torte or a plate of few desserts. I, of course, chose the torte. It was a nice treat to end my meal. My friends opted for the plate of semifreddo, cappuccino lollipop and mascarpone vanilla ice cream. They were pleased with their desserts, as well.

Overall, my experience at Elisir was great, particularly because of the service our waiter provided. I was glad Elisir was chosen for restaurant week. You should give it a try, as well.

Restaurant Week ends Sunday, August 19th, so go enjoy! Check out what other restaurants are participating. If you can’t make it this week, some restaurants are extending their Restaurant Week menus. So far, that list includes:

701 Restaurant
Agora
Ardeo+Bardeo
Art and Soul
Bandolero
Bastille
Bibiana Osteria-Enoteca
Cuba Libre Restaurant & Rum Bar
Graffiato
The Oval Room
Policy
Tabaq Bistro

(RW Extension Source: About.com)

**Update** Dining in DC has an updated list of restaurants who are extending their restaurant week service. Check it out here.

Trying out a new place for restaurant week? Let me know where you dined and what your experience was like.

– G

@seekyourbliss

@highlifesuite

