Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I don’t think I’ve ever been to a state or county fair; if I have, I can’t remember it. So when Gina came up with the idea to go to the Montgomery County Fair this past weekend, I jumped at the chance.

Gina and I rode out to Lakeforest Mall, where we hopped a ride on the shuttle school bus to the fairgrounds.

Entry to the fair is $10 for adults and free for kids under 11.

For some reason I never expected for there to be animals at the fair. Sue me, as I said, I’ve never been! lol. But there were tons of animals. Pony & camel rides for the kiddies and petting stations with everything from alpacas and llamas to pigs and goats.

There was also an 1800lb cattle named Tank. I was so afraid Tank was going to sneeze on me or something that I almost couldn’t take this picture lol. The pic makes him look small, but trust me, he was HUGE.

There was even a birthing barn filled with pregnant cattle, and one just so happened to give birth while we were there!

*see the newborn baby calf curled up in the corner??* 

Aside from all the animals to see, there were tons of games to be played and rides.

And you know a fair isn’t a fair at all without the food. And the selection at this county fair surely didn’t disappoint! As soon as you entered the main section of the grounds you were met with funnel cake, french fries, hot dogs, fried candy bars, EH-VER-RY-THING! You know name it, they probably had it!

There were even diabetic funnel cakes. Whatever that is lol.

Gina decided to be adventurous and go for the deep fried Reese’s cup; which was just one of the deep fried dessert options which also included twinkies, oreos and snickers bars.

I didn’t try any sweets but I had my heart set on a roasted turkey leg the moment I saw them.

As ridiculous as it looks, it was flavorful, juicy and just absolutely amazing!

In the midst of our munching, Gina and I came across a 550lb wheel of Wisconsin cheese. You know being the foodies that we are, we had to get a pic 🙂

*The Big Cheese*

On our way out, we passed by a henna booth and since henna is something I’ve always wanted to try, I definitely had to partake.

This tried & true city girl loved absolutely everything about our trip to the fair. From the animals, to the food, this trip made me feel like a kid again!

The fair will be open until this Saturday, August 18th. If you’re in the mood for a taste of country that’s not too far from the city, I suggest you venture on over to the MoCo County Fair or a fair that’s nearest you! The county fair is the perfect way to cap off the summer.

~ Dyanna

@DyannaLynn

@HighLifeSuite

