Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve never really loved metallic nail polishes. They just weren’t… shiny enough for me, so I came to prefer flats and neons. However, a couple weeks ago, I chanced upon a new shade from Essie that totally changed my mind!

Essie’s Mirror Metallics collection is a grouping of five metallic hues(gold, silver, copper, purple & blue). I decided to try the gold shade, Good as Gold, and I absolutely adore it!

*sorry for the grainy picture!*

Good as Gold is the perfect metallic! The shine on the finish is almost as great as minx; but is a mere fraction of the price. This polish is perfect for creating fun mani designs. I’ve already given a couple designs a try.

Here I did a checker print mani using Good as Gold and School of Hard Rocks, also by Essie:

And just yesterday I decided to give the leopard print mani a try, using Good as Gold as a compliment and for the leopard spots.

I started by polishing my nails with two coats of Playa del Platinum and polishing my ring fingernails with two coats of Good as Gold.

Then I used the end of a toothpick to strategically place different sized dots of Good as Gold on top of Playa del Platinum. Once the dots had time to dry, I used the Sally Hanson nail art pen in black to create the broken outline that will help form the recognizable spot.

And voilà! Just like that, you’ve got a leopard print mani that’s sure to impress!

Next time you’re in search of the perfect metallic polish remember the mirror metallics from Essie, you can thank me later! 🙂

And speaking of gold, I may be the only one who noticed, but the female Olympic athletes have been sporting some pretty cool manicures as they embark on their quest for the gold over in London.

Here are some of the coolest ones I’ve come across:

British archer, Amy Oliver. (the stylelist.com, AP)

French swimmer, Coralie Balmy. (the stylelist.com, AP)

Destinee Hooker of the US Women’s Volleyball team. (from Telegraph.co.uk)

Lynn Hutchison, British gymnast. (from Telegraph.co.uk)

Mexican weightlifter, Luz Mercedes Acosta Valdez. (from Boston.com)

Colombian swimmer, Carolina Colorado Henao. (the stylelist.com, AP)

German cyclist, Christina Vogel. (the stylelist.com, AP)

How awesome are those??

~ Dyanna

@DyannaLynn

@HighLifeSuite

