Tags

, , , , , ,

If I haven’t mentioned this here before, I LOVE BRUNCH! Absolutely adore it and can’t get enough of it. I wish I could just live a life of leisure and brunch every day!

Yep, it’s that serious lol. My love of brunch is what led me to today’s post about the brunch at one of Petworth’s rising stars, Chez Billy.

Located at 3815 Georgia Ave, a mere block and a half up from the Georgia Ave-Petworth station, Chez Billy specializes in French inspired fare. This was my 2nd time going to Chez Billy, but the first time heading there for brunch. Before I talk food, I just had to comment on how cool the decor is here.

When you walk in, the restaurant almost makes you think of a revamped saloon. The lighting is dim, the wood is dark, there’s exposed brick, two small balconies and a grand chandelier. And did I mention the wonderfully stocked bar??

Their brunch is available on Sunday’s, from open until 3pm. If you’re more of a bacon and eggs type bruncher, this may not be the spot for you. Their eclectic menu serves up everything from traditional staples like omelettes and french toast to croque-madame and gravlax(cured salmon).

I have an obsession with french fries(they’re my fav food) and a couple trips to Toronto as a kid, got me into eating poutine. With all that said, I just couldn’t pass up on trying their take on this dish, which came with sausage gravy, scrapple, cheese curds and a fried egg. Just a warning, this dish is not for the faint of heart lol. There were so many flavors and levels of deliciousness! This was my first time trying scrapple. I found it to be a little gamey for my taste but other than that, I was quite satisfied.

Since Chez Billy doesn’t have an unlimited mimosa option(bummer, I know), I decided to go with their coffee fizz; which is made up of coffee, cinnamon creme, bourbon, brandy, orange juice and an egg white. I’ll admit, the description made me nervous; however, the drink was de-li-cious! It seriously was like a liquid dessert.

Poutine

Cold Coffee fizz

My brunch partner went with the gravlax, a wild cured salmon on grilled country bread with an herb cream cheese, shallots, a boiled egg and arugula. The serving was a little small so he also ended up ordering the french toast which came with a berry compote. After being stuffed to the gills by the poutine, I didn’t have any room left to try the other dishes, but I was told they were pretty tasty! And seeing as he’s become quite the regular at Chez Billy, I trust his opinion.

Gravlax

French toast

Overall, I give Chez Billy’s brunch a 3 1/5 out of 5. A point is always lost for me when there isn’t unlimited mimosas lol. Other than that, I’d day that the prices are a little high for brunch but then again, this definitely isn’t your average brunch and I mean that in a great way!

Aside from brunch, Chez Billy is also open for happy hour and dinner. Not to mention, on Fridays and Saturdays they have live jazz from 10pm-12am. Sounds like the perfect spot for nice night out! ;0)

Have any of you all ever been to Chez Billy? What’d you think of it?

Chez Billy on Urbanspoon

~ Dyanna

@DyannaLynn

@HighLifeSuite

