Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Yesterday I attended the 1st annual Sip & Sale put on by The Board of Professional Black Females.

The event was located in The Washington Post building and featured vendors selling everything from natural soaps and body creams to lingerie and accessories/clothing. There was even a woman painting portraits while the event went on to advertise the local paint & sip business, Wet Your Palettes. And did I forgot to mention that there were beverages provided by Grey Goose and Remy?? It doesn’t get much better than that!

While I was there, you know I had to do a little chatting and a little shopping. Hey, it was a shopping event, I couldn’t come away empty handed! While doing so, I came across some pretty awesome entrepreneurs who are making their mark in the retail industry.

Christina Duong of Shop Our Closet, an online vintage retailer, was there with a plethora of great vintage clothing, jewelry and handbags for the ladies.

Their vintage items are in pristine condition, which is SO important, and vary in era.

I also happened to run into a family friend, Katrina McDow, owner of Naomi’s Rose, an online lingerie company.

And I was glad to see that even though the event was put on by a women’s centered organization, they didn’t forget about the fellas! I was delighted to come across Jon the owner of the men’s apparel brand Intrepid Genius based out of Virginia. I’m a sucker for men’s apparel so I was really vibing with their dope display and over feeling of this brand.

So what did I buy??

An awesome vintage high-waisted black, pleated, button down skirt from Shop Our Closet; which I think will be a great, versatile addition to my wardrobe.

I also bought these gold lion earrings from Shop Our Closet, which I adore because it is SO rare that you find vintage earrings that aren’t clip ons!

For my brother I picked out this short-sleeved button down shirt from Intrepid Genius; which I loved, so I hope he does too!

Major congrats to the ladies of The Board of Professional Black Females for hosting this successful event! And thanks to them for introducing me to some awesome local brands!

~ Dyanna

@DyannaLynn

@HighLifeSuite

