Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

If you are looking to try something new with great flavor, I am suggesting you try a pupusa. They are an El Salvadorian specialty and I love them! And there are many restaurants in the DC Metro area that serve them. This time I decided to try Irene’s Pupusas. It was delicious, so I was glad I gave them a try.

Pupusas come in a variety of choices. For instance, you can get a cheese pupusa. For me, this pupusa is a spin on a classic grilled cheese sandwich and I love it! Check out Irene’s Pupusas menu below to see the options.

Upon this visit, I order 2 chicken & cheese pupusas and one cheese pupusa. Pupusas always come with a vinegar cabbage slaw and a tomato based sauce. (You don’t have to use them, but they enhance the flavor in my opinion.)

Here is what my pupusas look like.

And the cheese pupusa really is like a variation of a classic grilled cheese sandwich. Try it. You won’t be disappointed.

My pupusa all dressed up with the slaw and sauce.

Pupusas are one of my favorite things to eat. If you haven’t tried one, I highly suggest that you do. For those of your who enjoy them, do you have a favorite spot to get them from? Let me know. I would love to give them a try.

– G

