Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So one day, I happened to be watching a Bobby Flay episode and he made this raspberry basil limoncello cocktail that looked amazing! I was looking for a great drink to make for the bestie’s birthday and when I saw this one, I knew I found the one.  I had to do a trial run to ensure that it was the one for the party. It met all expectations. It’s a perfect summer drink because it’s cool and refreshing and it just taste good.

The recipe below is Bobby Flay’s raspberry basil limoncello cocktail, as mentioned before. As always when it comes to beverages, you adjust to your preference. Some prefer strong beverages and others prefer them “lighter.”

Raspberry Basil Limoncello Cocktail

Ingredients

  • 1 pint fresh raspberries, plus more for garnish
  • 12 fresh basil leaves, roughly torn, plus sprigs for garnish
  • 1 lemon, cut into sixths, plus wheels for garnish
  • 1/4 cup simple syrup, chilled (more if you prefer the cocktail a little sweeter)
  • 2 ounces Limoncello
  • 4 ounces citron vodka
  • Crushed ice
  • Sparkling rose wine, chilled

I used regular sparkling wine because I couldn’t find sparkling rose wine in a split. Sparkling rose would probably enhance the flavor, but using sparkling wine worked as well.

Directions

Place the raspberries, basil, lemons and simple syrup in a small pitcher. Muddle all until the raspberries are mashed. Add the Limoncello and vodka. Chill in the refrigerator for 30 minutes to allow the flavors to mesh.
Placed crushed ice (I used cubed) into rocks glasses and add some of the raspberry mixture. Fill to the top with sparkling wine. Garnish with lemon and raspberries and basil sprigs if desired.
I’m sure this drink will be a hit at the party. If you try it, let me know your thoughts!
– G
