Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I enjoy trying new things and this includes food trucks, especially if the menu sounds good. Recently, I was in search for something good for lunch and I came across the Something Stuffed truck. They are usually serving up lunch in Northern Virginia, but on occasion they make it to the city. And I was so glad they did that day!

The Something Stuffed food truck was the brain child of two ladies, Gauri and Michelle. They are all about fresh food, so the menu changes day to day. One of the reason I like to feature food trucks is because they are a great event or wedding food option. And with a truck such as this one, I’m sure they would customize a menu to your liking.

So back to business…. On the day I tried them out, I enjoyed two types of empanadas: The Sheps and The CTM.

I really enjoyed The CTM empanada… so much that I forgot to take a picture. The CTM is comprised of local, free-range chicken, flavored with Indian spices and a tomato cream sauce.

The Sheps empanada is shown above. It is made with local, grass fed ground beef, potatoes, peas and spices. It had good flavor. (I enjoyed The CTM one better because I completely missed the mention of peas on the menu and I’m not a pea person.)

And last but certainly not least, the truck was offering a special of gumbo that day. Let it be known, I will never turn down a bowl of gumbo. And their gumbo was simply AMAZING!

There was free range chicken, shrimp, chorizo, okra, green peppers, tomatoes, onions and rice. The flavor was delicious. Once I finished it, I was mad that I didn’t get more. If the Something Stuffed food truck ever serves gumbo again, I highly recommend that you try it.

– G

