Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m born & raised in DC; Shepherd Park to be exact. If you’ve never heard of it, I wouldn’t be surprised. It’s a quiet little neighborhood, alllllll the way uptown in Northwest. It’s heavily residential, with just a few restaurants & businesses here and there. So when my parents told me there was a new boutique in the neighborhood, I knew I had to go check it out!

Walish Gooshe, located at 7610A Georgia Avenue, is owned by designer & native Washingtonian Gregory Gaten Taylor. Taylor, a 2009 winner of TLC’s Who Are You Wearing, studied fashion & marketing at the Art Institute of Philadelphia. The boutique focuses on women’s ready-to-wear and is filled with everything from dresses, to separates and even swimwear. Greg crafts everything by hand and will even create custom designed pieces at your request.

If I were asked to describe Walish Gooshe in 3 words I would choose: feminine, classy and sexy. There’s no denying that Taylor has great command of the female form and the knows how to create pieces that are flattering for all shapes and sizes. Walish Gooshe exemplifies what I love about boutiques, and that is the ability to shop for one of a kind pieces that are destined to turn heads and spark conversation!

*Greg working with clients to create a custom piece*

This past Saturday I was privileged enough to be able to steal a couple minutes of Greg’s time to chat and play dress up(who knew I could fit a sample size?)!

THL: What was it that got you interested in designing? 

Greg: My older sister. Growing up she was always fashion forward. She’s the one that inspired me to attend the Art Institute of Philadelphia.

THL: Where did the name “Walish Gooshe” come from?

Greg:  “Walish” means classy and sophisticated. And I just liked the way “Gooshe” sounded and the way the two flowed together. Now I’m looking to further brand Walish Gooshe and come up with a logo that people will just be able to see and automatically recognize.

THL: What do you think of the fashion scene in DC?

Greg: Fashion in DC is definitely on the rise. Initially there were supposed to be a lot more boutiques being opened as a part of the H street development but many of those spots were taken over by restaurants instead. And of course there are the shops in Georgetown as well. I would definitely like to see more funding and grants put into bringing fashion to the city. (And so would we!)

THL: Where do you see Walish Gooshe in 5 years?

Greg: I plan to open up three more stores. Another location here; somewhere further downtown. And either in New York City and Philly or NYC and LA. In the fall of this year, I also plan to release WG for Walish Gooshe which will be a lower price point offering.

Here are a few shots of me wearing various selections from Walish Gooshe:

With an awesome pair of heels, this beaded white mini dress would make the perfect wedding reception dress for a sassy, fun bride!

Any time sheer black paneling is involved you can’t help but feel sexy! I loved the length and the sweetheart neckline on this dress!

Also loved the colors on this playful dress!

While the dresses were breathtaking it was nice to see that I could just as easily find an outfit that was work appropriate. The fit on this suede skirt was perfect! The necklace and bangles I’m wearing aren’t made by Taylor but are available, among other baubles, for purchase in the shop.

My favorite piece in the shop was this Grecian style, draped lavender dress. I had to get a little assistance from Greg to figure it out, but the end result was elegant and red carpet worthy.

And naturally, you know I couldn’t leave the store without something being purchased. My mom found this gorg printed dress!

And I found this cute gold silk dress during a previous visit.

Major thanks to Greg for letting me take a couple minutes, more like an hour, of his time to learn more about Walish Gooshe! We at The High Life adore you and your beautiful designs!

**Starting this Thursday, June 21st, Walish Gooshe will be having a t-shirt giveaway. With every in-store purchase of $75 or more, you get a free t-shirt valued at $35!**

To keep up with Greg and learn more about the exciting happenings at Walish Gooshe, follow here on facebook or @WalishGooshe on twitter.

So what’re you waiting for? High tail it on up this Shepherd Park boutique and get your very own piece of Walish Gooshe!

~Dyanna

@DyannaLynn

@HighLifeSuite

