Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

According to Facebook, Twitter & my Instagram feeds, denim shorts are making quite the comeback this summer. Not to say that they ever left, but I’ve spotted all types of denim shorts on trend reports, in my favorite stores and on fashionistas everywhere. From ripped & torn to acid wash and spiked & studded out; denim shorts with attitude are the “it” trend.

*from ColeNTerryVintage.com*

I personally grew up hating shorts. I kid you not, I was born with the chubbiest little thighs that made me self-conscious as a kid. But now that I’ve learned to embrace all that I am and love every part of me, as you all should as well, I’ve grown to love shorts! It’s only natural that I would see this trend as an opportunity to create my own pair of customized shorts and share with you all exactly how I did it, so you all can do the same.

What you need:

A pair of jeans

Scissors

Needle & Thread

Stick pins

A pair of shorts that you currently love the fit of

Optional: Scrap piece of fabric/nailhead studs

How to:

Start by using the shorts you currently own and like the fit of, as your guide for the new shorts. Take chalk or a pencil and mark on the jeans wear you want to end up cutting them. Once your marks have been made on both legs, proceed to using your scissors to cut the excess leg portion off. For a more rugged look, you can start cutting and then rip them to finish. I would also suggest that after you do the first leg, you fold that leg onto the other to make sure the legs come out an equal length.

If you want to keep it simple, you can stop here but you all should know by now that I had to get a little fancy with mine 🙂

I decided the rustic look wasn’t for me, so I cuffed the bottoms and using my needle and thread, sewed a quick hem to keep the cuffs in place.

I also decided before hand that I wanted to create a fabric panel for the shorts; really give them some identity.

So I took the scrap fabric that I chose and placed it over the short leg I planned to attach it to. Using stick pins, secure the fabric, in order to prepare to sew it to the shorts. A sewing machine would make this part a breeze, but alas, I don’t have one so by hand it was.

And voilà! Now you have a custom made pair of shorts that no one else will be seen in! You can add all types of fabrics, studs, lace; you name it, you can do it.

And you know how much I had to spend to create these custom made shorts? $0! Why spend $100+ on custom made denim shorts when you can now make your own!?

~ Dyanna

@DyannaLynn

@HighLifeSuite

Got a DIY project you’d like to see us tackle? Contact us on twitter or comment below and we’ll do our best to oblige!

