Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I grew up hating vegetables. Absolutely, positively abhorring them. I was the kid that had to be threatened to not be allowed any dessert in order to eat my veggies. And even when I did eat them, I usually held my breath while chewing so I didn’t have to taste them. I was that bad. And to be perfectly honest, it wasn’t until I moved out on my own a few years ago, that I discovered that I could actually create vegetable dishes that are enjoyable.

*see that $.99 per lb price tag?? Who said eating healthy had to be expensive??*

One of those dishes is a savory kale recipe that I concocted while trying to find a great way for me to incorporate this superfood into my diet. Kale has somewhat become the vegetable of the moment, a trend if you will. And rightfully so; kale has some amazing benefits. It’s full of vitamins K, C and calcium; just to name a few benefits. You can juice it, bake, fry it, saute it. Put it in salads, soups, incorporate it into a variety of dishes; or you can allow it to stand alone. I love savory dishes that are full of flavor so it’s only right that my kale get the same treatment!

What you need:

1/4-1/2 lb of kale

1/2 yellow onion

1/2 bell pepper

1/2 long green pepper(these are spicy and can be subbed by red pepper flakes)

1 tbsp crushed garlic

3/4 cup chicken or vegetable stock

splash vegetable oil

optional: sweet chilli paste

How to do it:

Dice the yellow onion, bell pepper and long green pepper. Heat the vegetable oil in a deep pot and add the diced vegetables, garlic and chilli paste. Allow them to cook down until the onions become translucent.

Now it’s time to add in the kale. If you bought your kale in a bunch, like the first pic in this post, you’ll want to de-stem and tear or cut the kale into smaller pieces. I lucked out and found a 2 lb bag of pre-torn kale at my local grocer, so all I had to do was rinse, drain and add the kale to the pot. Add the kale in bit by bit. As with most other greens, there will be considerable shrinkage once cooking has finished but it will start out looking like a lot.

Mix the kale with the other veggies. Add in the 3/4 cup of stock and cover. Let the kale simmer for 20 minutes or until the kale has cooked down and the color has changed to a darker green.

And there you have it!! A savory vegetable dish with a kick! It’s quick, it’s easy, it’s cheap AND it’s totally yummy! And coming from a former vegetable hater, that says a lot!

Have you ever tried kale? What are some of your favorite recipes?

~ Dyanna

