Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

The other week, we had a birthday celebration for one of my co-workers. She’s vegan, so it was only appropriate that the cake the office got for her was a vegan chocolate cake. Vegan chocolate cake?? Just the idea stopped me dead in my tracks. I bake, so the idea of crafting edible goodies without butter, milk or eggs isn’t one I had quite wrapped my mind around. Naturally my interest was peaked so I set out to find this vegan gem from which the birthday cake had come, Sticky Fingers Sweets & Eats.

Sticky Fingers, located in bustling Columbia Heights, was started in 1999 by Doron Peterson. It’s a cute little shop with a warm vibe and a quaint seating area. Everything in the shop is 100% vegan, from the cupcakes and cookies to their nuggets and chilli ‘n cheese dogs. They even offer a weekend brunch. And did I mention that Doron and her team have won the Food Network’s Cupcake Wars twice? How had such a place gone unnoticed by me for so long?? Better late than never, I say.

There were so many things in the case, it was hard for me to choose what to try; however, I wanted to make sure I got a diverse selection. Since they were voted Best Vegan Cookie in DC by the CityPaper, I had to try an oatmeal raisin cookie. In addition to that, I settled on a strawberry lemonade cupcake and a brownie.

*please excuse the disheveled cupcake, it flipped over in my bag :0)*

The brownie was my absolute fav of the 3. There was truly no difference at all between this vegan delight and a regular brownie. The flavors were rich, dense & chocolaty just the way a brownie should be. I had to stop myself from devouring the whole thing!

The oatmeal cookie was tasty. For some reason I thought it would be dry, but thankfully it wasn’t. There was the right amount of cinnamon and spice to give the cookie that old-fashioned, baked by grandma feel. And lastly, the strawberry lemonade cupcake, my least favorite dessert here. The cake itself wasn’t bad, it was quite reminiscent of cornbread in texture and there was a zesty, runny lemon filling inside, which flavor wise was a pleasant surprise. The frosting however left much to be desired. It was oily, it actually tasty like oil, and lacked in strawberry flavor. To be quite honest, the combination was a little weird & thus disappointing.

All in all, I’d recommend that dessert lovers, vegan and otherwise check Sticky Fingers out. If nothing else, I’ll definitely be back for one of those brownies! I also think I’ve been inspired to give a vegan dessert recipe a try. How does vegan red velvet cake sound? Hmmmm. I think I feel a future Recipe du Jour brewing!

Have any of you all tried vegan desserts? What did you think??

Sticky Fingers Bakery on Urbanspoon

~ Dyanna

