Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

If you’ve paid any attention to popular fashion trends this Spring, you may have noticed the resurgence of the peplum silhouette. What is peplum?? Glad you asked :0)

The word ‘peplum’ is derived from the Greek word for tunic. And it’s defined as a short overskirt that is usually attached to a fitted blouse, jacket or dress(wikipedia.com).

A.K.A.:

*picture from sofeminine.co.uk*

I’ve always loved this style; to me the shape is the perfect ode to femininity. I’d never tried wearing it myself but after spotting this leather top in H & M I was prompted to seize the opportunity!

The leather and structure in this top gave me the perfect balance of edge & feminine; which I adore. However, as much as I loved the top, I had no idea how I should wear it. With the looseness of the skirted portion, I knew that whatever I wore on the bottom needed to be fitted, in order to give me balance. **Cardinal fashion rule: a balanced silhouette is of utmost important.**

After spending some time digging through my closet, here’s what I came up with:

I went for a fitted pencil skirt from TopShop, even though a pair of skinny pants could work just as well. With the top being black, I would have loved a brighter color for the skirt; ideally a neon pink, but alas, my options were a bit limited. Because the skirt is so sleek, you could almost imagine this being a dress instead of two separate pieces.

I encourage everyone to try a little piece of peplum. Whether it’s a jacket, top, skirt or dress. This flirty silhouette should not be missed. Here are a couple examples of where you can find an item or two that best suit your taste AND wallet:

Eyelet silt & crepe printed top for Vera Wang 

Textured peplum dress from Arden B.

Navy peplum dress from Givenchy

Knit pencil peplum skirt from Bebe

Mint textured peplum skirt TopShop

Peplum jumpsuit from Asos

Scuba pencil dress TopShop

Peplum blouse from Mango

Like it? Love it? Or, hate it? What do you all think of the peplum trend??

~Dyanna

