Tags

, , , ,

We’ve all got our guilty pleasures. And one of mine just so happens to be fried food; particularly fried chicken. I mean, who doesn’t love a nice piece of crunchy, juicy, flavorful chicken after a rough day??

While living in NYC, I became acquainted with the wonderfulness that is Korean fried chicken by way of the quick service restaurant, BonChon. Their chicken has the right amount of flavor and crunch without being too heavy or greasy; in a nutshell it’s addictive!

*picture taken from BonChon.com*

Although there is a BonChon in Fairfax, a mere hop skip and jump from DC, I decided I needed these wings a little closer to home. That’s when I went in search of a recipe that I could reproduce in my very own kitchen. With a few tweaks here & there to suite my personal taste, by George I think I’ve got it!

What you’ll need:

2-3lbs of chicken wings

1/2 cup flour

1/2 cup cornstarch

2/3 cup cold water

canola oil for frying

For the marinade:

5-6 small scallions

salt

pepper

2 tspn cumin

crushed garlic

crushed ginger

1 tbsn vegetable oil

3 tbsp soy sauce

How to do it:

Chop scallions and combine with the crushed garlic, ginger, salt, pepper, cumin, soy sauce and the vegetable oil(can be subbed for sesame oil for a different flavor) in a plastic freezer bag. Add the wings to the marinade and refrigerate over night. When you’re ready to fry, pour the canola oil into a deep pot until it reaches 2″ high. While the oil heats to 350 degrees, combine the 1/2 cups of flour and cornstarch in a bowl and whisk in the 2/3 cup of water until the mixture is smooth and lump free. For a little extra flavor you may want to add salt, pepper or even hot sauce for a kick to the “batter”.

Add the wings to the mixture and toss to coat. Working in batches, so you don’t crowd the pot, fry the chicken for 5-7 minutes per batch. Drain the chicken on a paper towel to get rid of excess oil. Once each batch has gotten a go round, fry the wings once more. The double frying is the key to this recipe’s signature crunch.

Once they’ve cooled a bit, the wings can be eaten as is, but I like to create a little sauce for them. I personally take a short cut and use a store bought sesame garlic sauce mixed with a sweet chilli sauce to coat the wings. However, there are plenty of sauce recipes online that can be used to give these delicious wings the flavor you desire. Just remember to coat the chicken with the sauce while they’re still warm so the flavor seeps in.

Frying can be a lot of work, but trust me, these wings(which can be a great party snack might I add) are definitely worth it! Happy eating!!

~ Dyanna

