Tags

, , , ,

In Downtown Silver Spring, there’s a new kid in town! If you’ve ever frequented the area, it’s easy to notice that there are plenty of family friendly restaurants and shops in  the neighborhood; It’s also easy to notice that that aside from a pub here or there, there aren’t many spots that cater to the 21+ crowd.  So when I saw construction taking place for a new lounge in the neighborhood, my curiosity was automatically peaked.

Society Lounge, conveniently located a hop, skip & jump from the Silver Spring metro stop, at 8229 Georgia Avenue, opened to the public less than a month ago and has already generated a bit of a buzz. After having heard positive reviews about the restaurant/lounge while surfing on-line and from my own brother, I decided to check it out myself.

The other night I met up with a few friends for after work drinks and dinner to see what this new spot had to offer. Would it be able to fill a void in Silver Spring? Immediately upon entering, I noticed that the ambiance was sexy & polished.

The lights were dim, the bar was stocked and the music was loud enough to recognize when one of your favorites came on but low enough to be able to enjoy the conversation around you. Might I add that they also offer valet parking, which is quite the unexpected but definitely a plus with the limited parking on Georgia Ave.

Their Caribbean inspired menu offers quite the variety of options; from Macaroni & Cheese to Pan-seared Red Snapper, jerk chicken salad, a Grilled Black Angus Filet, and a Jumbo Lump Crab Cake sandwich. I ordered the jerk wings, which had a good Caribbean BBQ-esque flavor and meat that nearly fell off the bone, but could have used a little more spice & heat.

And don’t forget about the desserts, because they surely didn’t. The bread pudding was amazing! And that comes from someone who doesn’t normally prefer it. The dessert, which is served warm with a white chocolate, rum sauce and scoop of vanilla ice cream, has the right balance of vanilla & spice to have me daydreaming about it three days later!

*Pictured above: the Society Salad with pulled jerk chicken, mandarin oranges, blue cheese and pecans served with plantain chips; bread pudding; jerk wings*

With the number of patrons passing through the lounge it was hard to believe that they had only been open for a couple weeks! I definitely look forward to spending many a summer evening at Society Lounge. My one hope for Society is that they evolve into having a weekend brunch offering. I mean, who doesn’t love brunch?? I know I do!

If you’re in the neighborhood(and even if you’re not), check out Society Lounge and tell us what you think!

~ Dyanna
The Society Lounge on Urbanspoon

