Tags

, , , ,

Last Saturday Gina & I attended a Lady Bloggers Fashion & Beauty event hosted by Dana of thediaryoffrankyj.blogspot.com, Sarea of saraeis.blogspot.com and Mika of mydesignerdreams.com. The meet & greeat slash shopping event was hosted at It’s Vintage Darling in the Columbia Heights section of Washington, DC.

I had never even heard of this store before, which, as someone who loves fashion, is a shame. But I’m so glad that I’m now in the know!

This vintage boutique was opened by Amira Hakim and Kindall Hudgins in 2011. It’s Vintage Darling is perfectly located just a couple blocks up from the Columbia Heights metro stop and nestled on the 2nd floor of a converted town home. The store may appear small from the outside but once you enter, you quickly realize that it is jam packed full of vintage goodies. What I liked most about the boutique is that there is something for everyone; from vintage albums & pins; men’s clothing & accessories and of course plenty of items for the ladies. Also, every aspect of It’s Vintage Darling is well, vintage. From the merchandise being sold, to the fixtures they are placed on.  There is even a small luxury vintage section which showcased reasonably priced items from Gucci, Louis Vuitton, Givenchy, Judith Leiber and more!

Of course I couldn’t leave the event without buying something! While browsing I spotted a periwinkle leather skirt and as soon as I tried it on, I knew it had to be mine.

*I’ve styled the skirt here with a black and gold paillette top from MK2K, black wide banded belt from Urban Outfitters and a classic black pair of Nine West pumps.

The condition and fit are excellent and I know I’ll get plenty of wear out of it before the weather turns too warm for leather. Without a doubt, I will definitely be making another trip back to It’s Vintage Darling and if you’re looking for a standout piece to add to your wardrobe, you should too!

~ Dyanna

