I LOVE food. I mean really, really love food. And as a self-ordained foodie, one of my favorite things to do is cook. My all-time favorite meal, like many 20-something women these days, is brunch. It’s simple, quick and delicious. Yesterday I decided to challenge myself and cook an item I had never attempted before: crepes! The recipe I used was adapted from allrecipes.com .

Crepes for two:

1/2 cup flour

1 egg

1/4 cup milk

1/4 cup water

pinch of salt

1 tablespoon melted butter

Filling of your choice

Optional : fresh fruit for garnish

First, whisk together the egg and flour. Gradually add in the milk and water. Followed by the pinch of salt and melted butter. Grease your skillet and once it’s nice and warmed up, scoop 1/4 of the mixture into the skillet. When I say only use 1/4, LISTEN!, crepes should be thin and more than that can leave you with a mess(trust, I learned from experience).¬†Immediately begin to move the skillet around so that the mixture coats the bottom of the skillet. After a minute or so, use a spatula to flip the crepe over and let the other side become golden brown.

The other side should only take another minute so when it’s done, transfer your finished crepe. Crepes are best served warm.

Here’s a photo step-by-step for all my visual folks:

Image

Crepes can be filled with all sorts of things, from ham and swiss to yummy nutella. The topping I chose was a mixture of nutella and banana jam. Here’s the finished product along side my cheddar basil scrambled eggs and bacon.

Image

Bon Appetit!

~ Dyanna

